U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Skip to main content
Return to topReturn to top

Criteria for Army Awards

Distinguished Service CrossThe Distinguished Service Cross, established by act of Congress on July 9, 1918 (amended by act of July 25, 1963), is awarded to a person who, while serving in any capacity with the Army, distinguishes himself by extraordinary heroism not justifying the award of a Medal of Honor while engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States, while engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing force, or while serving with friendly forces engaged in an armed conflict against an opposing armed force in which the United States is not a belligerent party.  The act or acts of heroism must have been so notable and have involved risk of life so extraordinary as to set the individual a part from his comrades.

Distinguished Service Cross citations for AMEDD recipients.

Our lists of AMEDD personnel with awards for Valor should not be considered complete. This is an ongoing project and we welcome information on additional Distinguished Service Cross, Silver Star, Bronze Star with "V" device and ARCOM with "V" device recipients.  Please contact us via email.